What’s At the Top of Your Writing Worry List?

How do I know if my writing is good enough to get published? How much time should I spend writing? Do I have to pick a specific genre for my writing? What is a genre? What if I share my work and someone steals my idea? What’s the best way to handle negative feedback? Should I self-edit or hire an editor before I pitch it to an agent? How do I find an agent?

These are but a few of the many questions I frequently hear or read from writers who know how stressful it can be to turn out a satisfying piece of work and get it submitted for publication. I’d like to receive comments from my readers about their writing stresses and any questions you might have about the writing/publishing process.

In return for your feedback, I’ll post articles that deal with the topics you turn up.

5 responses to this post.

  1. #1 question would be — how do I go about getting published?

    Reply

  2. Ah, my recent worry is about writing techniques. I ran into the RL Technique yesterday, and now I’m wondering what other techniques exists that I don’t know about. I know I’m jumping ahead since I haven’t even sent my first story out yet.

    Reply

  3. Mary Ann,

    That’s a very loaded question. There are many steps to getting published. I’ll write some posts on this process.

    Dan,

    I’ve only heard of the RL technique once in an article by Jared Myers wrote about what he called the RL (repetition and layering)technique in reference to J.K.Rowling’s books.
    It’s not an “official” writing technique, but his ideas on her writing methods, specifically in writing a series.

    Reply

  4. Nancy, I would like to hear your take on writer’s conferences and preparing for editor/agent/publisher interviews. I have found that I get the best contacts (with other writers as well) and feedback at the workshops. I also find a healthy dose of reality…as far as what kind of work and persistance it takes to really get a book published. What do you think about conferences? Have you found some really great ones for the unpublished (as yet) writer’s out there?

    Reply

  5. I think the hardest part about getting published is the form rejections letters in the process. I like feedback — I want to know why the editor didn’t like my article. Was it poorly written? Was it an over-written topic? Was I even close to what the editor was looking for? I realize magazine editors can’t possibly give specific feedback, however, it would be so helpful! Thankfully, my first published work was for an editor who was encouraging and specific with her feedback.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

